Home
People
Research projects
Chapman CV
Publications
Collaborators and alumni
Opportunities
News!
 



Michael Darrington
Project:
RNAi for pest management.
Funding:
BBSRC ICP studentship funded by Oxitec Ltd, Oxitec main supervisor Dr Neil Morrison.
Email:
m.darrington@uea.ac.uk
Details: This PhD project aims to harness RNA interference for pest control of insects of agricultural and medical importance.
Alice Dore
Project: Love thy neighbour? Social and sexual accommodation in fruitflies.
Funding: BBSRC DTP studentship
Email: a.dore@uea.ac.uk
Details: In fruitflies, males show precise responses to their social and sexual environment. Males detect rivals using multiple, redundant sensory inputs. We are testing the idea that this redundancy is robust, immune to mis-firing and confers significant benefits as well as whether the same rules apply to detection in interactions involving males of closely related species.

Dr Emily Fowler
Project:
Measure for measure: reproductive plasticity in females
Funding:
NERC
Email:
e.fowler@uea.ac.uk
Details:
This project aims to understand the fitness benefits of the expression of reproductive plasticity in female fruitflies.


Emma Gould
Project:
Garlic polysulphides for insect control.
Funding:
BBSRC iCASE to Dr Chris Hamilton (Pharmacy) and Ecospray Ltd.
Email:
emma.gould@uea.ac.uk
Details:
The aim of the PhD project is to investigate the insecticidal potential of garlic compounds and unerstand their mode of action.


Stewart Leigh
Project:
Genetic methods for insect control.
Funding:
EnvEast NERC DTP, CASE PhD project in collaboration with Professor Luke Alphey, Pirbright Institute.
Email:
stewart.leigh@uea.ac.uk
Details:
The PhD project aims to investigate the potential of reproductive interference and underdominance to provide insect control for insect vectors of medical importance.

Dr Wayne Rostant
Project:
Measure for Measure: reproductive plasticity in females
Funding: NERC
Email: w.rostant@uea.ac.uk
Details: I am broadly interested in sexual selection and conflict, particularly with regard to individual fitness and population outcomes. I use the fruit fly, Drosophila melanogaster, to investigate these topics but am also interested in mathematical modelling to provide a theoretical framework.

Jessy Rouhana
Project:
Sex peptide as a master regulator of reproduction.
Funding:
Joint PhD programme with Professor Bregje Wertheim, University of Groeningen, Holland. Funded by Ubbo Emmius and UEA Scholarships.
Email: j.rouhana@uea.ac.uk
Details:
The sex peptide is transferred along with sperm during mating and exerts significant behavioural and physiological changes in females. I am measuring genetic variation in several sex peptide response traits in order to conduct genome-wide association tests.